The World of Info


Popular destinations GREECE


Geography and Landscape


Mykonos is an island of the Cyclades, a group of islands belonging to Greece that can be divided into the Northern Cyclades (Andros, Mykonos, Dilos, Syros, Tinos), the Central Cyclades (Paros, Antiparos, Naxos, Amorgos), the Western Cyclades (Kea, Kythnos, Kimolos, Milos, Serifos, Sifnos) and the Southern Cyclades (Santorini, Folegandros, Sikinos, Ios, Anafi). In addition to these inhabited islands, there are thousands of uninhabited islands, islets and rocky outcrops.

Mykonos, located 177 km southeast of the port city of Piraeus on mainland Greece, is a relatively small Greek island in the Aegean Sea, situated between Tinos, Siros, Paros and Naxos, near Delos. Mykonos has a surface area of 86 km2 and a coastline of approximately 80 km. Mykonos is a maximum of 16 km wide from west to east and 11 km long from north to south. Just southwest of Mykonos is the small island of Dilos (formerly Delos), which is only 6 km2 in size.

Mykonos SatellietfotoMykonos Satellite PhotoPhoto:public domain


On Mykonos, the high mountains that are found on most Cyclades islands give way to low, bare rocky hills that, together with the enchanting (sandy) beaches, characterise the landscape of the island. Grey-green rocks covered with prickly pears, fields of wild flowers surrounded by whitewashed farmhouses and chapels or windmills characterise the interior of Mykonos.

The highest point of Mykonos is in the north, Profitis Ilias (372 m); in the east is Profitis Ilias Anomeritis (341 m). Of particular shape are the so-called 'breasts of Aphrodite'. Mykonos has no real rivers, but in the rainy season some streams are formed.

De 'borsten van Aphrodite', MykonosThe 'breasts of Aphrodite', MykonosPhoto: Ross Berteig CC BY 2.0 no changes made



CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated May 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info