The World of Info


Popular destinations SPAIN

AndalusiaCataloniaCosta blanca
Costa bravaCosta del solEl hierro
FormenteraFuerteventuraGran canaria
IbizaLa gomeraLa palma


Since 1983, the Balearic Islands have been an autonomous community of Spain, along with sixteen others. The government of the Balearic Islands is based in Palma de Mallorca, the capital of Mallorca. Menorca itself still has an Island Council or "Consell Insular", just like the other major islands of the Balearic Islands.

Municipalities of MenorcaMunicipalities of MenorcaPhoto: Public domain

The Central Island Council stands up for the general interests of Menorca, local interests are represented by the municipal councils and the mayors. Menorca has eight municipalities: Mahón, Ciutadella, Alaior, Es Castell, Ferreries, Sant Lluís, Es Mercadal and Es Migjorn Gran. For the current political situation in Spain see chapter history.


Kelly, T. / Menorca

Klöcker, H. / Menorca

Mallorca & Ibiza, Menorca & Formentera
APA Publications

Montserrat, J. / Reiseführer Menorca : ein Streifzug durch die Insel
Triangle Postals

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated May 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info