The World of Info


Popular destinations CANADA

AlbertaBritish columbiaManitoba
New brunswickNewfoundland and labradorNorthwest territories
Nova scotiaNunavutOntario
Prince edward islandQuebecSaskatchwan


Prince Edward Island was originally inhabited by the Mi'kmaq people. They called the island Abegweit.

Prince Edward Island was part of the French colony of Acadia, the island was called "Île Saint-Jean". About a thousand Acadians lived on the island.

However, many fled to the island from mainland Nova Scotia during the British-ordered eviction in 1755 and many more were deported in 1758 when British soldiers, under the command of Colonel Andrew Rollo occupied the island.

England obtained the island by the Treaty of Paris in 1763, which ended the Seven Years' War. The island was renamed St John's Island.

On 29 November 1798, the island was renamed Prince Edward Island to avoid confusion with its namesake in the Atlantic Ocean. The colony's new name came from King George III's fourth son, Prince Edward Augustus, the Duke of Kent.

Prince Edward Island became Canadian on 1 July 1873.

See also the history of Canada.


Elmar Landeninformatie


CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated May 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info