The World of Info


Popular destinations CANADA

AlbertaBritish columbiaManitoba
New brunswickNewfoundland and labradorNorthwest territories
Nova scotiaNunavutOntario
Prince edward islandQuebecSaskatchwan


New Brunswick is the province of Acadia, as the whole area west of Quebec was called in the French era. In 1755, the French-speaking Acadians were forced to take an oath of allegiance to the English king, on pain of exile. The presence of French-speaking Acadians in the Cajun region of the United States is due to that banishment. About one third of the population of New Brunswick is still French-speaking and French is one of the official languages here. It is also interesting that the part of the province that is wedged in the north-west between Quebec and Maine is also called la République de Madawaska. Around 1800, the inhabitants were so fed up with the nagging about the border that they proclaimed their own state, and they still maintain it - as a serious joke. In summer, they celebrate this exuberantly in the Foire Bayonne.

See also the history of Canada.


Elmar Landeninformatie


CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated May 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info