The World of Info


Popular destinations PORTUGAL

AlgarveAzoresCosta de lisboa
Costa verdeMadeira


State organization

ssembleia da república PortugalAssembleia da República PortugalPhoto: Jose Manuel CC 3.0 Unported no changes made

In 1982 a new constitution, replacing the old one in 1976, came into effect. It abolished the Military Revolutionary Council and limited the president's power. Furthermore, Marxist and socialist elements were removed from the constitution. The president, who is elected every five years by universal suffrage, appoints the prime minister and has the right to dismiss his government. The president is also Commander in Chief of the Army. The government is in a relatively weak position as it is politically accountable to the president and to parliament. The parliament consists of one chamber, the Assembleia da República and consists of 250 members. For the current political situation see chapter history.

Administrative division

Districts of PortugalDistricts of PortugalPhoto: TUBS CC 3.0 Unported no changes made

Historically, Portugal has been divided into eleven provinces: Minho, Trás-os-Montes, Alto Douro, Douro Litoral, Beira Alta, Beira Baxia, Estramadura, Ribatejo, Alto Alentejo, Baixo Alentejo and Algarve. Portugal is divided into 18 districts and two autonomous regions (the Azores and Madeira) headed by an appointed governor. The districts are divided into municipalities (concelhos).


Champion,N. / Portugal Corona

Dominicus, J. / Portugal Gottmer

Encarta Encyclopedie

Holisova, J. / Algarve ANWB

Keuning, T. / Portugal ANWB

Wakeren, B. van / Algarve, Zuid-Portugal, Lissabon Gottmer

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated May 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info