The World of Info


Cities in ALBANIA



State organization


Car rental in Albania
Albania Parliament Building

Albania Parliament BuildingPhoto: Gertjan R. CC 3.0 Unported no changes made

Between 1948 and 1991, the communist party - officially Albanian Workers' Party (abbreviated: PPSh) - was the only leading political force in state and society. The first free elections took place in 1991 after the fall of the communist regime.

The "one-chamber People's Assembly" or "Kuvendi Popullor" has 140 delegates, who are elected every four years;the People's Assembly elects the head of state. One hundred members of the People's Assembly are elected directly from single constituencies and forty by proportional representation. There is a general obligation to vote from 18 years. The president is the head of state of Albania, is elected for five years and is eligible for re-election once. The president appoints the prime minister.

In 1998 Albania had the first post-communist constitution, which gave parliament more powers, such as appointing the council of ministers. This constitution made Albania a parliamentary republic and a unitary state with a system of government based on the separation and balance of legislative, executive and judicial powers. The current political situation is described in the chapter history.

Administrative division

Albania Adminstrative divisionAlbania Adminstrative divisionPhoto: TUBS CC 3.0 Unported no changes made

Administratively, Albania is divided into 36 districts (rreth, plural rráthe of rráthët) and twelve prefectures.

prefecturecapitalnumber of inhabitantsarea
BeratBerat193,0001027 km2
DibrëPeshkopië190,0002586 km2
DurrësDurrës245,000766 km2
ElbasanElbasan360,0003,199 km2
FierFier385,0001,891 km2
GürokastërGürokastër115,0002884 km2
KorcëKorcë265,0003710 km2
KukësKukës112,0002373 km2
LezhëLezhë160,0001,620 km2
ShkodërShkodër257,0003561 km2
TiranaTirana600,0001653 km2
VlorëVlorë195,0002,706 km2


Tirana UniversityTirana UniversityPhoto: Leeturtle CC 3.0 Unported no changes made

Primary and secondary education in Albania is a collective facility to which everyone has access.

Children between the ages of three and six attend the ‘kopshte’ , the kindergarten. This is followed by eight-year primary school, followed by three forms of secondary education, to which approximately 75% of the pupils pass through. The ‘shkollat 12-vjeçare (the’ 12-year school’ ) trains for study at a university. The ‘shkollat e mesme teknik-profesionale’ is a lot like high tech school. The ‘shkollat e ulte profesionale’ delivers students who are trained for jobs in agriculture and industry.

In 1957, the first university in Albania was opened in the capital Tirana. In 1991, Tirana Agricultural College and Shköder College were declared universities. From 1992 exchange programs were initiated with many universities in the world.



Kagie, R. / Albanië : mensen, politiek, economie, cultuur
Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen : Novib

Pettifer, J. / Albania & Kosovo

Vlucht uit het isolement : Albanië op zoek naar nieuwe wegen
Instituut voor Publiek en Politiek

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated March 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info