The World of Info


Cities in MONACO

Monaco city


State structure

Monaco has been a hereditary constitutional monarchy since 1962, with the Prince of Monaco as head of government. He appoints the Minister of State, a French official nominated by the French government. In order to carry out his task properly, the Minister of State is advised by five government advisers, who are also heads of departments. The following advisers are accountable to the Prince:

Legislative power is shared by the prince and the 24-member parliament or "Conseil National". The Conseil National is elected by universal suffrage every five years by people aged 21 and over. The President and Vice-President of the Conseil are elected by the members of the Conseil. The Conseil meets twice a year for three-month periods: from 1 April to 30 June for legislative matters and from 1 October to 31 December for the new budget.

In addition, there are three consultative bodies whose members are appointed by the Prince. These are the Crown Council: 7 members; the State Council: 12 members and the Economic Council with 30 members, which includes representatives of the social partners.

The current royal family is not directly descended from the illustrious Grimaldi family. After 1731 the Goyon-Matignon family was allowed to call itself Grimaldi and since 1949 the same applies to the Polignac family, as Rainier III's father was called in real life.


In Monaco, the domestic political situation is stable. There are no political parties as there are in the Netherlands. Candidates draw up "lists" of eligible persons to compete for seats in the National Council, which is elected every five years.

In 1993, Jean Louis Campora's "Liste Campora" won 15 of the 18 seats. The 1998 elections were also very successful for Campora. Under Campora's leadership, "Union Nationale et Démocratique" won all the seats. Other competing lists were the Union Nationale pour l'Avenir de Monaco and the Rassemblement pour la Famille Monégasque.

In 2005 His Serene Highness Prince Rainier III died and was succeeded by his son Prince Albert II.

The current political situation is described in the history section.

Administrative division

Monaco is a city-state whose capital is the same size as the country of the same name. Because Monaco is both a state and a city, national and municipal interests are separate. In addition to the government, there is also a city administration with a fifteen-member municipal council and a mayor elected by the municipal council. Local elections are held every four years.

Monaco consists of five districts: Monaco-Ville, Monte Carlo (the largest district), La Condamine (old port district), Fontvieille (built on land reclaimed from the sea) and Moneghetti.


The principality has ten state schools, namely seven schools for pre-school and primary education, one school for secondary education, one lyceum for general and technical education, and one lyceum for vocational and hotel education. There are also two private schools for special education.

Two special schools: The International School of Monaco offers bilingual education from pre-school level, and the International University of Monaco offers undergraduate courses in business administration and postgraduate courses for the Master of Business Administration degree.

In total, all schools are attended by about 5900 pupils and students, of which about 1800 are specially admitted from the surrounding areas. About 4500 pupils attend the public schools with 400 teachers and about 1400 pupils are taught in the private schools with about 80 teachers.

The schools emphatically promote the Monegasque language and the history of the Principality. The English language is also considered very important and is taught from the earliest years.


Côte d’Azur

Eck, N. van / Provence, Côte d’Azur

Gauldie, R. / Provence & Côte d’Azur
Van Reemst

Noe, B.A. / Provence en Côte d’Azur

Provence, Côte d’Azur

Simons, J. / Minilanden : een presentatie van de vijf kleinste landen ter wereld: Vaticaanstad, Monaco, Nauru, Tuvalu, San Marino

Zwijnenburg, H. / Provence, Côte d’Azur

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated April 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info