The World of Info



Luxembourg city


Luxembourg is a constitutional parliamentary monarchy. The current constitution dates back to 1868 and has been amended several times since then. In 1948, for example, the "perpetual neutral status" was abolished. The position of Head of State - called Grand Duke - is hereditary as long as there are male successors. If there are no male successors, female succession is possible. In addition to the 21 members of the Council of State (Conseil d'Etat) appointed by the Grand Duke, legislative power is mainly exercised by the Chambre des Députés (Chamber of Deputies), which consists of 60 members. They are directly elected for five years.

All Luxembourg citizens over the age of 18 have the right to vote; to be elected, one must be 21. Attendance is compulsory. Executive power lies with the Grand Duke, who has considerable influence on the political system. However, any act of his requires the countersignature of a responsible minister. In practice, the head of state has more of a symbolic function. The head of government is the prime minister.

Luxembourg is administratively divided into three administrative districts (Luxembourg, Grevenmacher and Diekirch), which are subdivided into 12 cantons and 118 municipalities. Municipal councillors are elected; mayors and aldermen are appointed. For the current political situation, see the history section.


Encarta Encycloppedie

Europese Unie
Europees Platform voor het Nederlandse Onderwijs

Fonteyn, G. / Ardennen, Luxemburg
ANWB Media,

Grote Lekturama Wereldatlas, Europa

Smets, P. / Het Groothertogdom Luxemburg

Stoks, F. / Ardennen, Luxemburg

Vermeulen, J.J. / Het Groothertogdom Luxemburg

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated May 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info