The World of Info


Cities in ECUADOR


Popular destinations ECUADOR

Galapagos islands


Spanish dialects in EcuadorSpanish dialects in EcuadorPhoto:Merchancano CC 3.0 Unported no changes made

The official language of Ecuador is Spanish, also called Castellano instead of Español; the Indians in the Sierra predominantly speak Chibcha and especially Quechua, which was originally the spoken language of the Incas.
Quechua has several dialects that differ considerably from each other and this language is also spoken in Peru and Bolivia. In the Oriente many other Indian languages and dialects are spoken, sometimes a dialect of Quechua but usually they have no relationship with Quechua.

Spanish Quechua

1 uno u'luc
2 dos iscai
3 tres quinsa
5 cinco phisca
10 diez chunca
tomorrow mañana tutamanta
son hijo churi
black negro yana
nose nariz senca

English: how old are you? Spanish: cuantos años tienes?
Quechua: masca huatayoctaccanqui?

The Galápagos islands have two or sometimes three names. From the past they have been given a Spanish and/or English name. In 1892 the Ecuadorian government gave the islands an official name.



Luft, A. / Reishandboek Ecuador en de Galápagoseilanden

Rachowiecki, R. / Ecuador & the Galápagos islands
Lonely Planet

Renterghem, O. van / Ecuador : mensen, politiek, economie, cultuur
Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen/Novib

Vries, W. de / Ecuador, Galápagos

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated April 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info