The World of Info


Popular destinations UNITED KINGDOM

EnglandNorthern irelandScotland


The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is made up of four countries; England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. TheWorldOfInfo has chosen to deal with each individual country.

Houses of Parliament EnglandHouses of Parliament EnglandPhoto: Henry Kellner CC 3.0 Unported no changes made

The United Kingdom is a constitutional parliamentary monarchy, the constitution of which is not enshrined in a constitution, unique to such an important player in world politics. The constitution is essentially a body of statutes, customary law (based on judicial decisions and precedents) and conventions. Read more about the Society of England

Debating Chamber National Essemblee WalesDebating Chamber National Essemblee WalesPhoto: Public domain

Politically, the Principality of Wales had lost its independence since 1282. The English king Edward I defeated the Welshmen and added Wales to his empire. In 1301, the king gave this new kingdom to his son, the English prince. This tradition continues to this day; the British heir apparent is entitled "Prince of Wales". Charles, the son of Queen Elizabeth, has been the "Prince of Wales" since 1969. Read more about the Society of Wales

Northern Irish Parliament BuildingsNorthern Irish Parliament BuildingsPhoto: Dom0803 CC 3.0 Unported no changes made

Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom and is in transition to self-government after a period of political turmoil. In 1920, the Northern Irish Parliament or "Stormont" was established, consisting of a House of Commons and a Senate. In the same year, Northern Ireland was granted autonomy in internal affairs. Read more about the Society of Northern Ireland

Debating chamber of the Scottish ParliamentDebating chamber of the Scottish ParliamentPhoto: Colin CC 4.0 Internationaal no changes made

Scotland belongs to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, a constitutional monarchy headed by Queen Elizabeth II since 1952. Scotland had formed a parliamentary union with England since 1707 ("Act of the Union"), but it maintained its own legal system. In the British cabinet, one minister, the Secretary of State for Scotland, is in charge of Scottish affairs. He heads the government center in Edinburgh (St. Andrew's House). This Scottish Office also has an office in London under the same name. The Secretary of State is directly accountable to Parliament for the actions of the departments that make up the Scottish Office. Read more about the Society of Scotland


CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated June 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info