The World of Info


Cities in SAN MARINO

Città di san marino


San Marino was founded in 301 by Marino (Saint Marinus), a Dalmatian clergyman.

It placed itself under the protection of the Dukes of Montefeltro and Urbino in the mid-15th century and was ruled by Cesare Borgia in the early 16th century.

With the incorporation of Urbino into the Church State (1631), the independence of San Marino was recognised. Napoleon I also took the miniature state under his protection, which remained a free state under papal protection after the Restoration. In 1849, it granted asylum to Garibaldi. In 1862, a Treaty of Friendship was signed with the then amalgamating Italy. This treaty was renewed in 1939 and revised in 1971. San Marino and the Vatican City are the only remaining ministates of the large number of independent states that existed in Italy before unification in the 19th century.

In both World Wars, San Marino remained neutral. The fascist government of neutral San Marino was overthrown in 1943, after which the tiny state was occupied by the Germans.

In 1991, San Marino agreed a customs union with the EU. A year later, the mini state became a member of the UN and the IMF.

In June 2006 elections the Social Democrats became the largest party with 21 seats, closely followed by the Christian Democrats with 20 seats. The Parliament of San Marino has 60 seats.

Pasquale Valentini has been head of government since 5 December 2012. In October 2013, a referendum is held for joining the EU. A majority voted in favour but the turnout was too low and the referendum therefore not valid. Nicola Renzi has led the government since December 2016. Following the December 2019 elections, Lucca Becarri will become the new head of government in January 2020.


CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated June 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info