The World of Info



Since 1946 Réunion has been a Département Français d'Outre-Mer (DOM), an overseas department like Guadeloupe and Martinique. Réunion is administratively divided into four arrondissements, 24 communes and 49 cantons.

Governmental affairs are the responsibility of the French DOM. The department is administered by a Prefect and an elected General Council of 47 members elected by universal suffrage for six years. The Prefect is appointed by the French President on the advice of the French Ministry of the Interior. Officially, of course, the French President is the Head of State.

Réunion is represented in the French Parliament by five deputies, and in the French Senate by three senators and a pro-consul for economic affairs. There is also a General Council and a Regional Council. The presidents of the General Council and the Regional Council are elected by the members of these councils.


Ellis, R. / Mauritius, Rodrigues & RĂ©union : the Mascarene Isles

Mauritius, RĂ©union & Seychelles
Lonely Planet

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated May 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info