The World of Info



State Structure

Bahamas Districts Bahamas DistrictsPhoto: Public domain

The Bahamas has been an independent state within the British Commonwealth since 1973. The head of state of England appoints a governor general. The executive tasks take place under the leadership of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet. The Bahamas are a constitutional democracy and are administratively divided into 21 districts. Acklins and Crooked Islands, Bimini, Cat Island, Exuma, Freeport, Fresh Creek, Governor's Harbor, Green Turtle Cay, Harbor Island, High Rock, Inagua, Kemps Bay, Long Island, Marsh Harbor, Mayaguana, New Providence, Nichollstown and Berry Islands, Ragged Island, Rock Sound, Sandy Point, San Salvador and Rum Cay.


Welcome to Nassau Bahama's Welcome to Nassau BahamasPhoto: Mike Burton (CC BY-ND 2.0) no changes made

The main driving force on the economy in the Bahamas is undoubtedly tourism, which accounts for more than half of the gross national product. Most of the tourists are from the United States. Forty percent of the workforce is employed in this industry. Industry and agriculture together account for only about ten percent of gross national product. Many agricultural products are therefore imported. Another large part of the import consists of factory products, oil and electronic products. In particular, many pharmaceutical products are exported, but also rum, cement, crayfish and petroleum products. Another important sector is the banking sector. The Bahamas are known as a tax haven.


Elmar Landeninformatie

Macculla, P.E. / Bahamas

Baker, C.P. / Bahamas

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated April 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info