The World of Info





Almost 80% of the population is Roman Catholic and the Roman Catholic Church enjoys a state-protected status as "Landeskirche". The independent archdiocese of Vaduz was established on 2 December 1997. Until then, Liechtenstein belonged to the Roman Catholic Swiss diocese of Chur. Liechtenstein currently has ten parishes.

7% of the population adheres to the two Protestant denominations: the Evangelical Church of Fürstentum Liechtenstein and the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Fürstentum Liechtenstein.

Some marginal denominations are the Pentecostal Church, the Baha'i Community, the Freie Evangelische Gemeinde in the city of Schaan and the Islamische Gemeinschaft im Fürstentum Liechtenstein.

The patron saint of Liechtenstein is St. Lucius, who must have lived in the first centuries of our era. He was an English king who is said to have converted the Liechtenstein people.


Economische Voorlichtingsdienst

Encarta Encyclopedie

Winter, R. de / Basisinformatie Liechtenstein
Liechtensteinse Vriendenkring

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated April 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info