The World of Info





State structure

The Parliament of Montenegro (Skupština Crne Gore) is the legislature and consists of 81 representatives elected for a four-year term. The Parliament appoints the Prime Minister on a proposal from the President, as well as Ministers nominated by the Prime Minister. A majority of the parliament can send the cabinet home if trust is withdrawn.

The President of Montenegro is the head of state and his seat is in the former royal capital Cetinje. The president is elected by direct election for a period of five years and can only be re-elected once.

Montenegro has 21 municipalities or 'opstini': Andrijevica, Bar, Berane, Bijelo Polje, Budva, Cetinje, Danilovgrad, Herceg Novi, Kolašin, Kotor, Mojkovac, Nikšic, Plužine, Pljevlja, Podgorica, Rožaje, Šavnik, Tivat, Ulcinj, Žabljak. For the current political situation see chapter history.


Primary education is free and compulsory for children between the ages of seven and fifteen. After that, there is a choice of further education, of which vocational and technical education are the most popular.

Higher education can be followed at the University of Montenegro, with more than 10,000 students.


Detrez, R. / Servië-Montenegro : mensen, politiek, economie, cultuur, milieu
Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen ; Novib

Naklada Ljevak

Rellie, A. / Montenegro
Bradt Travel Guides

Schuman, M.A. / Serbia and Montenegro
Facts On File

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated May 2024
Copyright: Team The World of Info